Tournament Duration

 IPL 2024 is scheduled from March 23 to May 29, 2024, featuring 74 matches over this period.

Teams Participating

Ten teams will compete, including Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Capitals, Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Kolkata Knight Riders, Punjab Kings, Rajasthan Royals, Gujarat Titans, Lucknow Super Giants, and Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Auction and Player Retention

The IPL auction was held in Dubai on December 19, 2023, a first for the IPL being conducted overseas. Teams had until November 26, 2023, to finalize their lists of retained and released players.


The league will follow a group stage and playoff format, with each team playing 7 home and 7 away games in the league stage.

New Rules

Two new rules were introduced for this season, including allowing bowlers to deliver two bouncers per over.


Matches are expected to be played in at least ten cities across India, with each team playing some matches in their home ground.

Notable Players and Changes

Mitchell Starc became the most expensive player in IPL history, bought by Kolkata Knight Riders. David Warner returns as captain of Delhi Capitals, replacing Rishabh Pant.

Defending Champions

Gujarat Titans, the current champions, are expected to be strong contenders again.

Team Leadership

The captains for teams include MS Dhoni for Chennai Super Kings, Rohit Sharma for Mumbai Indians, and David Warner for Delhi Capitals, among others.

Final Match

The IPL 2024 final is scheduled for May 29, 2024, at a venue yet to be announced.