10 team IPL from 2022, BCCI confirms in AGM

BCCI has confirmed that fans will get to see 10 teams contesting for the IPL 2022 title. This decision was taken in the annual general meetting of BCCI in Ahmedabad on 24th December 2020.

The inclusion of new teams was on the agenda of the BCCI AGM.

Currently, 8 teams namely CSK, MI, SRH, KKR. RCB, RR, KXIP, and DC are the permanent teams of IPL. Total 60 matches were played in the last season between these 8 teams.

See: Suffering From Injury, Bhuvneshwar Kumar to Return Only in IPL 2021

Now the inclusion of 2 new teams for the IPL 2022 has increased this number to 94 spanning for 2 and a half month.

This will curtail the international calendar and this also raised a question of avalability of foreign players for such a long period.

One more issue is that broadcast money will now be re-negotiated as the current arrangement is for 60 matches.

There was a rumour that there will be 9 teams in the IPL 2021 but BCCI has made it clear that only 8 teams are going to contest for IPL 2021 and other new teams will only play IPL 2022 and onwards.

As per News18 network, some of the names who are interested to buy the 2 new teams are Gautam Adani and Sanjeev Goenka who was previously the owner of Rising Pune Supergiants.

Another major agenda of this meet was to support the ICC’s bid for the inclusion of T20 cricket in the 2028 Olympics. According to Insidethegames.biz, Japan Cricket Association chief executive Naoki Alex Miyaji said “Cricket’s inclusion in the Olympics would be a huge boost to growing the sport around the world.

“I hope it gets the support of every ICC [International Cricket Council] member so that a serious bid can be presented to the IOC for 2028 and onwards.”


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top